A testimony about Zechariah’s name

I realize that it’s probably mostly my family and friends who read this blog. So I’m going to make it more personal. I’ve already switched to using my children’s actual first names in my last post. I think this blog will be a bit more random. More about our family is up to, but things that are too long to post on Facebook. 🙂

So, I’d like to share a testimony about how we picked a name for our second son: Zechariah Israel.

When I was pregnant with this baby, I was reading the Bible one day and felt an impression that we should name our baby Zechariah. At the time, I didn’t know if we were having a boy or a girl. Zechariah means “The Lord remembers”. To me, this was meaningful in two ways. One was more personal, in that I felt that God answered my prayers and remembered me in my longing for more children. But I also felt strong feelings for Israel, the land and the people. Lately Israel has had a lot of negativity from the media. A lot of people have been turning against Israel -even some churches. Yet, if we believe in the Scriptures, we can see that God has not forgotten Israel. The Bible prophecies that in the end times, many nations will come to war against Israel and it will not be a good outcome for them. Right now it seems like it wouldn’t take much for the nations to turn against Israel. And when that happens…we don’t want to be in that crowd that goes against Israel. So I thought “Zechariah Israel”, “The Lord remembers Israel” would be a fitting name for a time like this.

Well, the time came to give birth and we had our baby boy. After he was born Ben and I were discussing a name for him. I told Ben about the impression I had for the name Zechariah. However, there was another boy’s name that I really liked too. So we were trying to decide between Zechariah and the other name. Ben also really liked the other name (which I don’t want to give away, in case we have another son and decide to name him that name). We decided we would make a final decision about the name when the baby would be 8 days old. After a couple days, Ben surprised me when he told me that he too was reading his Bible and also felt impressed to name the baby Zechariah. Then, on Friday, the day before we had to make a final decision, Ben’s sister Jessie came over to take newborn/family photos. She was curious about what we would name our baby. I told her we have a couple names in mind but haven’t made a decision yet but we would by tomorrow. Then, just for fun, I asked her “look at him and tell me what name he looks like”. She said “Old testament or New?” I said “Old”. Then she looked at him and said “Zechariah”. I was so surprised that she said that! It was like more confirmation.

Meanwhile, my mom had told me earlier that she thought she knew what we would name our baby, but wouldn’t tell us until after we had chosen a name. Well, by Friday night we decided we would name him Zechariah. It was time to tell our family that. I picked up the phone and called my parents and told them our baby’s name. My mom was ecstatic when she heard that we picked Zechariah because she said that that’s the name she told my dad that we would pick. By then the confirmation was overwhelming and we felt very confident that his name is supposed to be Zechariah.

Afterwards, I decided to read through the book of Zechariah in the Bible.

I was amazed at how this book is full of God’s promises to Israel, and affirmation that He remembers her…

Beautiful verses, such as:

“Proclaim, saying, ‘Thus says the LORD of hosts:’ I am zealous for Jerusalem and for Zion with great zeal.” – Zechariah 1:14

“…My cities shall again spread out through prosperity; the LORD will again comfort Zion, and will again choose Jerusalem.” – 1:17

“…I will return to Zion, and dwell in the midst of Jerusalem. Jerusalem shall be called the city of truth, and the mountain of the LORD of hosts, the holy mountain.” – 8:3

“…old men and old women shall again sit in the streets of Jerusalem, each one with his staff in his hand because of great age. The streets of the city shall be full of boys and girls playing in its streets. ” -8:4,5

“…they shall be as though I had not cast them aside; for I am the LORD their God…” – 10:6

And there’s many more.

My hope and prayer for our son Zechariah is that he will take part in the restoration of Israel. May he see Messiah reigning from Jerusalem and her streets full of happy boys and girls.

IMG_8000 copy

Leave a Reply

